Table of Contents       8. Workflow Integration


8.6 Delete and rename items from inside NeoFinder

NeoFinder offers two unique abilities that will help you work with your original data directly from within NeoFinder!

You can both rename original items on your disks after you had cataloged them with NeoFinder, and even delete files and folders from the disk! Again, that is another feature only available in NeoFinder.

Rename Originals

If you select any file or folder inside a catalog, and that item is currently available (mounted) on your computer, NeoFinder adds a little checkbox to its Inspector:

Screen Shot 2013-08-02 at 09.45.24

If you change the name of the item, and this "Also rename on volume" option is active, NeoFinder will also rename the original item on the disk, in this sample to the name "Find Duplicates Screenshot":

Screen Shot 2013-08-02 at 09.45.59

The folder on the disk will look like that afterwards:

Screen Shot 2013-08-02 at 09.42.06

This is a very powerful way to manage your files and folders directly form inside NeoFinder!

Please note that this checkbox only appears for items currently available on your computer (not for offline volumes!), and only for items with the proper access privileges.

Delete Originals

You can now remove an original item both from the NeoFinder catalog, as well as form the original disk, if that is currently mounted!

To do that, simply select one or more items you wish to delete. Instead of hitting the normal "Delete" button, use the "forward delete" button on your keyboard:

fordward-delete

If you have a small keyboard which doesn't have that, please use the "fn" key in connection with the regular "Delete" key.

NeoFinder will then ask you if you really wish to permanently remove these items from the catalog and also move the Original files into the Trash:

Screen Shot 2013-08-29 at 15.46.55

If you only select a single item, you can also use the contextual menu to do this:

Screen Shot 2013-08-29 at 15.48.50